Hi Cate, Maeg, & Candi!
I'm glad Cate made this! So smart, I'm also glad she reminded me she made this! :)
Maeg, I felt nervous and worried for you before but now I feel 10000 times more stressed about where you're living. I wish I could yell at all those guys for you!! You know I have no shame when it comes to yelling at people and for once it could actually be handy :) I'm glad you're being assertive though and tough. Try not to feel too bad about being more assertive than you've ever been before. It sounds like you're doing it for survival not because you're mean or a bad person. I'm so happy that your friends will be there soon and you'll hopefully have a nice break from the crazies. Please come home soon. I think about you all the time and miss you so much!! The two things I'm looking forward to most are 1. you coming home (I tell brian all the time how many months it is until you're back) and 2. my wedding so all my favorite people will be together. And don't forget you can stay with us and have your own room as long as you need to! You just have to share a room with all of my clothes, haha.
Cate, I miss you so much! I'm so happy that you, your mom, and Jett were able to make a trip to Chicago to see a specialist and I'm so happy you're feeling empowered. You're such a selfless, wonderful person and Mom. I swear you and Candi are just the sweetest, best moms and I don't know how you do it all and have just the best kids. I have a hard time managing my own life I can't imagine doing all that you guys do. How's Utah? How have you been?
Candi!! I miss you!! how are you? I thought you were pregnant the other day because my instagram was loading slow and you posted a caption that said "Things are gonna change a lot by this time next year" or something like that, but it was just a pic of Mike starting school. I was gonna be so mad I had to find out on insta so be warned ! ;) How much longer does mike have in school? When are you coming to Oregon? I miss you! I'm so happy I got to spend some time with you and Maeg in Nov or December (I'm getting old and can't remember)
I'm doing good! I've had the busiest summer ever and it's been really, really great! I can't believe all the stuff that's happened and that I've had the opportunity to do. Florida, was really fun I can't get over how gorgeous the water and beaches were. It was so nice to just have a vacation where you only spend time on the beach. I was really nervous to meet Brian's family! His Dad and sister are so great I feel really comfortable around them. His mom is a little more reserved and hard to read so I'm still nervous around her. I want her to like me and Brian says she loves me and is so happy we're getting married but I'm still not 100% sure. On our last night with them in Florida she was telling us about what we needed to do in the rental home in the morning before we left, and it was about the 3rd time she had told us (it was unloading the dishwasher) we made a joke and she got really mad and so that was awkward. His parents are going to be here next week for a visit so hopefully I feel more comfortable.
Vegas for my Bday was really fun! Way more than I expected my parents both had a lot of fun which was good. It's been a tough year for my family so it seemed like this trip was kind of like the good ole days. Beyonce, was of course AMAZING! It took me a really long time to get back to reality :) And we just got back from New Orleans which was really great. I'm so happy I got to spend time with Kellyn and Shelby and remember that I actually have friends haha. Since Maeghan and Sammy moved from Eugene I only have Katie and I see her maybe once a month so it's been hard not having any friends anymore. Thankfully I have Brian and I love spending all my time with him but it's still a hard transition not to have a lot of friends around. I also think the New Orleans trip was good because it reaffirmed I made the right decision to move home when I did. The grass is of course always greener so I've had doubts and felt lame for moving back to Oregon but this trip really made me appreciate where I live and that Oregon is where I'm supposed to be right now. I also saw a lot of the people I used to kind of hang around and they were all still doing the same thing....which was fun at 21/22 but not so cute at 25 ;) so I felt relieved to not be in the same position I was 3 years ago. Good looking out 22 year old Savannah! ;)
Other than all the trips I've been taking the Wedding has been taking up most of my time lately. Which is a ton of work! I knew it would be but it's more than I could've expected. I'm also realizing that your wedding isn't so much about you, it's about a lot of people, and a lot of people have opinions. So although I get final say usually someone (my mom mainly) is mad at me for something. I've also had a lot of trouble getting responses from the coordinator at Sunriver which has put me in an awkward spot. They were great at getting back to me until I paid the deposit and now it's like pulling teeth. I also found out our venue can only hold 80 people and we have 110 on the preliminary guest list so trying to decide what to do about invites has been really stressful. The only friends at the wedding will be the people in our bridal party. I hope not too many people are mad at me. It's also so funny how many people you never planned on inviting tell you that "they wouldn't miss it for the world" ....haha so who knows how this will all pan out.
My job is good, it's ramping up to be really busy this Fall. School starts on the 29th so my life will get more hectic. Brian is starting his 3rd year in his PhD program so he has 3 years left!! haha so I'll be in Eugene for 3 more years. Then we will move wherever he gets the best job. We're hoping he gets hired at the Federal Reserve either in SF or Atlanta. And currently the plan is to wait to have kids until we're at least 30. Which I'm fine with because I'm still worried I'm not ready for that level of responsibility and commitment haha but I have been feeling more nurturing and wanting a baby which I've never felt before so I'm relieved I was worried I was one of those weird women that never feel the need to have a baby. Thank goodness that's not the case!
Anyway, sorry this is so long! I miss you guys terribly. Please keep me updated with anything and everything with your life!
Love you!
Savannah
well hello friend
Thursday, September 4, 2014
Tuesday, August 5, 2014
Maeg I cried and laughed through your whole letter! Im praying for you like crazy and don't think I will completely relax until I know your safe.....would you mind taking whatever job is safer? Thanks! Sometime missionary opportunities come in the least unexpected places and remember even if you help bring ONE person back to our Heavenly Father that is incredible! So I say follow your heart. My sister Heidi gave me some sound advice. "you know it is the right decesion if you feel relieved afterwords" can't wait to hear what you decide!
My kids hair is turning so so dark...weird....kylers family is convinced I colored Jetts...haha I told him He has to be at least 8 years old before I do that! haha ;) but that could be a post on its own!
love and think of you guys like crazy....jetts swinging on my arm as I type....better go help my monkey!
those animals were breathtaking!!
My kids hair is turning so so dark...weird....kylers family is convinced I colored Jetts...haha I told him He has to be at least 8 years old before I do that! haha ;) but that could be a post on its own!
love and think of you guys like crazy....jetts swinging on my arm as I type....better go help my monkey!
those animals were breathtaking!!
Monday, August 4, 2014
Chilllllle (Not the food;)
Hello ladies!! First off, I am thankful for all of you! There are
some days that I’ve been so lonely and angry at everything South America that I
just hide in my apartment all day. At some point during those days I find
myself looking at instagram, seeing your sweet little kiddos, and all your
nieces and nephews makes me instantly encouraged. But, besides those random
discouraging days, I am doing great!!
I wanted to give you all a little update on my adventures
down here and hopefully get an update from you as well:) Cate an update of your
little hair darkening children, Kylers school and anything else exciting. And
Candi, 5 year anniversary! Crazy. What is the biggest lesson you have learned
through these 5 years that you would pass on to others? Savannah, how was Beyonce??:D
So, as you both know I am teaching English in the lovely city
of Santiago. Population 6.something million. What I didn’t know before coming
was that 6.something million is a stinkin big number. And the other thing I
didn’t know is that I had not even the slightest idea of how to teach or
explain anything about English. I’ve been speaking it my whole life and
sometimes the most basic questions cause me panic or confusion:D So, to be
honest I think I spent the first two months studying English. I wasn’t
expecting that. The first month was rough, as the institute that agreed to give
me work, didn’t give me any hours until 7 weeks after I came!!! Super
frustrating time but God was SO good to help me find other work while the
institute slowly gave me classes. And now, I work with the institute as little
as possible since I earn more without them.
I live right in the center of Santiago, in a neighborhood well
known as being a hipster/gay/artsy sector of the city. I don’t exactly fit
right in but I do like it. When I first arrived it was summer so I regularly
wore my chacos but had to stop due to the obnoxious amount of inquisitive,
“What the heck kind of shoes are you wearing” looks I kept receiving. Now they
just stare at me in general. I’ve had so many days where I had to repent for
all the mental fingers I threw up and all the cruel words I really really wanted
to say. Most days I have to remind
myself to smile because I have been forced not to, in order to avoid unwanted attention. This city is
trying to steal my smile (insert whine & sad face;).
Most of this frustration though comes from men. I constantly
have to remind myself that it’s just the culture and when they cat call 3 feet
away from me, make revolting kissy sounds, stare me up and down and make a
disgusting grunt noise or spit out some slurred sentence, that they don’t
realize how stupid they are to me. Anyways, it’s made me a lot tougher… in a
good way or bad way, I’m not sure.
Some funny situations…
1) I have been pooped on by pigeons 4 times in the last 6
months. The first 3 times were within 3 weeks of each other. One of them was SO
much pigeon poop that I had to cancel my next class. It was running down the
side of my face, all over the front of my shirt and somehow on both sleeves. I
panics and had an old lady and her son help me wipe it off with her napkin
haha:D
2) On the way to a job interview it started pouring. They
don’t have good drainage systems here so when it rains it turns into rivers in
the street. I was drenched. I decided to take a cab the last few miles. While I
was getting out of the cab and a couple inches from shutting the door, I saw
the cab driver reach back and take something from the seat. As he started
driving away I instinctively started opening the door again. He was yelling for
me to shut it and I jumped in since he wasn’t stopping. He had my iphone in his
hand! I asked him if it was mine and he denied it multiple times. Finally I let
all my frustration with south American men out on him by yelling at him, saying
some choice words and grabbing it. I was so annoyed with him. I didn’t get the
job either. Ha.
Usually I can handle 2 ½ hours around town before all my
grace, Christ-like love and kindness I prayed for in the morning is gone. After
that I’m just a grouchy faced sinner;) I’m definitely in debt for the grace God
gives me every day. The day my phone was almost stolen though, I canceled two
of my next classes and stayed on my couch all day crying and watching Friends.
I really wanted that job. However, now I’m thankful He didn’t give it to me.
3) Another (not funny) story happened yesterday. I was waiting
for the walk light on my way to the store. All over the city are people that
juggle, mime, dance and anything you can think of in front of the cars when the
light is red. I was intently staring at the juggle/unicycle girl (who is REALLY
good) as she was waiting on the platform in the middle of the two traffic
lanes. As I was waiting for her to start I see an old man in a wheelchair pull
up near her, right in between both lanes of traffic. Well, he got hit. I have
never been so panicked and frozen. He got thrown about 10 yards, right past the
lady and about 3 yards in front of me. The driver drove away. Typical South
America protocol. I started toward him to try to help, saw the blood and had to
look away. Other people and the juggler rushed to help him. I stood there for a
long time just in shock. He moved a bit though, lifted his head and the
paramedics came and helped him. Crazy. I’m praying he is ok:/
4) Also, for the sake of telling stories. I witnessed the
funniest event today. I was waiting in the park, creepily zoning out and probably
staring at children when I nasty little dog jumps on the bench near me and gets
me all wet. So, after he jumps down I watch him run all around the park as a
little boy chases him, picks him up by the hair, giggles, yells at him etc.
Then I watch him steal a boot from a little 2 year old girl. Obviously she
starts bawling, the boy starts chasing him again and I start laughing. This dog
chase involving the little girl, little boy and eventually the nanny lasted for
more than 5 minutes. The whole time I had a book up to my face laughing
non-stop. He zipped by me several times but I was enjoying the scene so much
that I refused to help. Haha.
5) The last story. They have a lot of museums here so I usually
visit one every Sunday that I can, since they’re free. Hahahah well.. this
Sunday I hit the gold mine. I went to the Natural History Museum of Santiago
Chile. I went in just looking to add something fun to my day and it turns out
it was the funniest thing I have witnessed since my arrival. I walked out full
of joy from all the laughter and appreciative to the art of good taxidermy.
This is a HUGE city and a huge museum yet I didn’t see one stuffed animal that
didn’t make me burst out laughing. I watched people take pictures of their kids
in front of the animals, all while I stood in the corner in laughter, just waiting to
take a picture that I could treasure forever in my “I Need to Laugh” album.
I’ll attach a few of my finds. It was this day that I learned to appreciate "Jake and Ryans Taxidermy" company:D
Anyway, I am currently planning a month long trip with two of
my friends from Eugene. They are coming September 16th until October
16th. I hate making itineraries but they won’t stop asking me what
we’re doing so, I’m making one. We’re going to the south of Chile &
Argentina, to see Torres del Paine and a huge glacier, then to the north to see
the Atacama desert. One of the highest and driest place in the world, known for
it’s star gazing. I’m really excited.
Then… I’m not sure. I applied for a pretty cool program in the
south of Argentina and was accepted last week. However, all week I have been
“wrestling” with it and really hearing but without clarity that I am not
supposed to join the project. I will have to tell them today what my decision
is. The program is a Christian hostel/refugio in Bariloche Argentina. The city
is considered the Switzerland of South America. It even has world famous
chocolate… apparently. Even though I’ve never heard of it before:) As a
volunteer I would be leading trekking groups, taking care of the hostel and
looking for opportunities to share Christ with Israelites that come through the
region. Yea. Crazy. Apparently Patagonia Argentina is turning into the second
promised land :D Haha jk. But in seriousness, they have upwards to 10,000
Israelites trekking through the area each year! I love the focus of this mission but really don’t think it’s
what the Lord is asking of me here in S. America.
So yeah, it’s prayer and decision time. I am actually really
wanting to do Workaway which is a connection of people that post jobs online,
you work the job and receive free housing and meals. I’m praying about one in
Bolivia right now and really hoping something like it works out. It is a
non-profit school for underprivileged children ages 5-12. They have many
different types of positions and I think working with poor families/abused women/trafficking
would be much more rewarding and useful as I try to find work back in the US.
We’ll see. The one thing I am sure of is that I really want to be out of
Santiago by the end of October and in S. America until February. So I’ll be
waiting to find out what that means.
I have also been thinking a lot about what I want to do when I
get back to the states. My cousin Tony sent me a picture of his young Marine
friend, shirtless and laying on his bed with this simple message, “Maeghan,
this is my friend Tim. He thinks you’re hot. He’ll be at my wedding.” So, I’ll
most likely be falling in love in June, at little Jessica’s wedding. He looks
19-20 but I’m ok with keeping up with the cougar name;) But seriously, I plan
on living in Oregon until right after Savannahs wedding and hopefully moving
somewhere. I would love to move to Colorado. I’m not sure though:)
Well, don’t feel bad if you didn’t finish all of this, it was
a bit long! But please!! Fill me in on anything exciting!!!! I would love to
hear from you<3
I love you all so much and truly look forward to catching up in real life.
<3Love
Maeghan
Sunday, August 3, 2014
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)